Facebook unveiled a new feature called “On This Day,” which resurfaces posts and photos you shared or were tagged in exactly one year ago, two years ago, and so forth. The digital memories will be available only for you to see, but you can also share them with your friends.
On This Day appears to be Facebook’s answer to Timehop, a popular “today in history” app for various social media platforms—like Facebook and Twitter—that boasts more than 12 million registered users, half of whom log on each day.
Last year, The Year in Review feature sparked controversy when it brought back painful memories to some users. As a result, the On This Day algorithm has special rules that will block out past posts involving, for example, former romantic partners or friends who have died, from your News Feed.